Homestead-Miami: Championship Weekend


Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. The NASCAR season is coming to an end with the final races in all three top NASCAR Series’ at the Homestead-Miami Speedway. In all three Series’, no driver has clinched the title yet. The season will come down to crowning a Champion based on the final race. Let’s take a look at the track. This is a 1.5 mile track with progressive banking. This means they can turn easier in the corners. The track has two long, equal straightaways.

The Ford 400 race caps off the chase for the Sprint Cup. Ten of the twelve drivers in the chase have been eliminated from winning the championship. While this race still has all 43 drivers participating, only Carl Edwards or Tony Stewart can win the championship. Any of the 43 drivers can win the race. Carl Edwards won this race last year, but of course, that doesn’t mean he will win again this year. Matt Kenseth holds the race record at 131.888 mph set 11/18/07. Jamie McMurray holds the qualifying record at 181.111 set in 2003. The two championship contenders are only three points apart. Either of them can win this race, and be crowned champion.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series is racing the Ford 300 on Saturday. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. is leading the points, but if he gets caught up in something and Elliott Sadler wins the race, Elliott could be the champion. The other Nationwide drivers are too far away in points to win the championship. Last year Cup drive, Kyle Busch, won this Nationwide race. He also holds the race record of 181.111 mph set 11/21/09. (He’s the best Cup driver to ever race in Busch/Nationwide.) Greg Biffle holds the qualifying record of 177.416 mph, set in 2003.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will be racing the Ford 200 race on Friday that will determine their champion. This is a tight battle between Austin Dillon, James Buescher and Johnny Sauter. Ron Hornaday, Jr. was coming on strong in the last few races to be in contention until Kyle Busch (yes, Cup driver) decided he didn’t like the way these Truck drivers raced him and deliberately took Ron out of the race and out of contention. (I personally hope Kyle won’t be in this race.) Johnny Benson holds the race record of 177.416 mph, set 11/16/07. Kyle Busch won the race last year.Vivid Seats has tickets to all of the Major sporting events. Get yours.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR racing, and hate to see the season end.




Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: