NASCAR Race Review: WypAll 200


Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. Saturday the NASCAR Nationwide Series raced the WypAll 200 race at the newly reconfigured Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, AZ. After qualifying on Saturday before the race, 88 Aric Almirola sits on the pole with a speed of 132.910 mph and 27.086 seconds around this one mile slick track. Sprint Cup driver, 60 Carl Edwards shares the front row with him. Series points leader 6 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. is starting eleventh, while second in points, 2 Elliott Sadler is starting sixth. 32 Ron Hornaday, Jr. and 28 Derrike Cope made unapproved adjustments and will start the race from the rear. 47 Scott Speed missed the driver meeting and will also start from the rear. Jennifer Jo Cobb, Josh Wise and Daryl Haar failed to make the race. here is my race review.

88 Almirola chooses the inside and leads from the Pole. The first caution is a big pile up of eight cars starting when 82 Reed Sorenson gets into the corner a little too hot, turning 11 Brian Scott while they were racing three wide. 7 Danica Patrick gets damage. 88 chooses the inside for the restart and takes off. 33 Clint Bowyer passes 60 for second. 09 Kenny Wallace scrapes the outside wall. 6 drives under 2 for sixth. 33 catches leader 88. 82 cuts a tire after heating up the bead and crashes into the wall, bringing out the second caution. The car catches on fire. 01 Mike Wallace gets back onto the lead lap.

88 again takes off on the inside. 30 James Buescher drives under 2 on the apron. 6 and 2 race side by side for second. 2 backs off and 6 gets by. 2 races 12 Sam Hornish, Jr.  16 Trevor Bayne gets by 60. 66 Steve Wallace bumps 20 Ryan Truex. 6 is catching leader 88. 6 takes the lead. 33 and 88 race for second. The third caution comes out when 80 D. J. Kennington blows a tire and hits the wall. His car is on fire like 82 was. They are team mates. 89 Morgan Shepherd gets his lap back. 6 comes out of the pits first to lead the way and chooses the inside. 18 Joey Logano races 88. The fourth caution comes out with 70 laps to go for 28 and 19 Mike Bliss getting together. This should be their final pit stop. 88 misses a lug nut. 89 Morgan Shepherd is again the Lucky Dog and gets his lap back. 19 blew a tire while racing beside 28 and they both get into the wall.

At the restart, it is 6 and 12 on the front row. 6 chooses the inside but spins the tires, letting 12 take off. 18 and 6 race for second and 18 takes the spot. 22 Brad Keselowski races 16 and 16 gets by. 16 and 22 race side by side. The fifth caution comes out  after 66 and 30 were racing side by side and 66 goes up into 30 to spin them both. 51 Jeremy Clements gets his lap back. They restart with 55 laps to go. 12 and 18 restart from the front row and 12 takes off. 6 again spins the tires. 60 and 18 race for second. 22 gets by 18 and 60 for second.

The sixth caution comes out when 89 and 23 Robert Richardson, Jr. get together and both hit the outside wall. 51 Jeremy Clements is again the Lucky Dog. 2, in 12th leads those behind him into the pits. 12 takes off in the lead. 60 and 22 race for second and 22 holds onto second. 18 and 33 race side by side. 2 drives under 70 David Stremme. 16 and 88 race side by side for ninth.

38 Jason Leffler and 88 race side by side while 2 dives under them onto the apron and out in front of them for the pass. 38 was busy racing 88 and is going too fast to let up to let 2 in front of him, bringing out the seventh caution. 38 bumps 2 and 38, 2 and 88 all get together. 89 and 51 also get caught up in the wreck. There is a Red Flag for clean up with 25 laps to go.

The Green Flag comes back out with nineteen laps to go. 18 and 60 race side by side for third. 6 is inside 18, but 18 gets by. 33 races inside 6 and 6 gets by (so the track is rubbering up and giving them another groove). 33 races inside 70 and gets by.

12 Sam Hornish, Jr. holds off Cup drivers Carl Edwards and Joey Logano to win the WypAll 200 race at Phoenix International Raceway, his first NASCAR win. Carl Edwards finished second, followed by Joey Logano, Stenhouse, Jr., Trevor Bayne, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Truex, Justin Allgaier, and Michael Annett for the top ten. This is two weeks in a row that a Nationwide driver beat the Sprint Cup drivers to win the Nationwide race. It looks like Ricky will be the 2011 Nationwide champion, as Sadler is now 41 points behind. James Buescher sits in third in points, followed by Almirola, Allgaier, Leffler and Kenny Wallace. Annett moves up two spots to eighth, while Brian Scott and Steve Wallace each drop a spot for the top ten in points.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR racing.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: