NASCAR Race Review: AAA Texas 500


Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. I know all the talk has been about Kyle Busch being parked for the weekend after once again driving like an idiot, but the AAA Texas 500 race at the Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday was sure a great race without him. I look forward to more. This is the last 500 mile race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season. Only two races remain after this one for the season and this fan sure doesn’t like seeing the season come to an end.

16 Greg Biffle starts from the Pole position after qualifying on Friday with a speed of 193.736 mph and 27.873 seconds around this 1.5 mile fast track. This was the fastest qualifying speed all year. Team mate, 6 David Ragan starts on the front row with Greg and another Ford Team mate, 17 Matt Kenseth will start third. David Stremme, David Starr and Reed Sorenson failed to make the race.Michael McDowell will be in the 18 car for Kyle. Josh Wise will drive Michael’s 66 car. Both will start from the rear, after the driver change. 00 David Reutimann changed the engine and will also be starting from the rear.

Last year, 11 Denny Hamlin won both races at Texas Motor Speedway. 17 Kenseth won the first race here earlier this year. Can he sweep Texas? 14 Tony Stewart won the last race at Martinsville Speedway. He also won the first two races in the chase for the Sprint Cup. Can he again make it two wins in a row? We shall see. Tony promises to give points leader, 99 Carl Edwards, a race for the points lead.

So, here we go! 16 Biffle and 6 Ragan race side for the lead and 16 leads from the pole. 99 slides under 27 Paul Menard. 14 drives under 6 for third. 99 gets around 6 for fourth. 16 is “real, real, real loose” and moves up the track. 17 is catching leader 16. 2 Brad Keselowski and 29 Kevin Harvick race for thirteenth. 17 drives under 16 to take the lead. 48 Jimmie Johnson, 9 Marcos Ambrose, 27 and 33 Clint Bowyer race for position. 27, 9 and 33 get by 48. 9 gets by 27. 78 Regan Smith drives under 6 for fifth. 2 moves 48 to the bottom to get by. 6 is “snappy loose” and makes a pit stop, starting Green Flag Pitting. 17 pits and 14 leads. 39 Ryan Newman leads, then pits. After all the pitting, 17 is back in the lead. 14 stayed out to lead two laps and now finds himself behind 99. 39 comes back into the pits with a vibration.

16 and 99 race for second. 99 drives under 16. 14 and 6 race side by side for fourth. 14 finally gets by. 22 Kurt Busch, 9, 00, 2 and 88 Dale Earnhardt, Jr. start Green Flag Pitting again. 6 takes the lead from 16 and they both make pit stops. 17 is once again in the lead after the pitting.

The first caution comes out for debris. They restart on lap 117. 17 and 14 race side by side for the lead. 14 finally takes the lead. 31 Jeff Burton drives under 56 Martin Truex, Jr. 00 gets sideways and  42 Juan Pablo Montoya gets by. 48 and 29 race for sixth. 16 and 4 Kasey Kahne race for position and 4 drives under 16. 2 and 48 get by 99. 17 and 6 race side by side for second and 6 gets by. 2 drives around 48 for fourth. 42 starts another round of Green Flag Pitting. Leader 14 pits and 48 leads. 2 leads when 48 pits. 14 is back in the lead after the pitting.

2 and 99 race for sixth and 99 drives under 2 to take the spot. 2 is “super, super loose”. 9 drives around 48 for fourth. 2 gets loose and 24 Jeff Gordon and 51 Landon Cassill get by. 88 starts another round of Green Flag pitting. Before this is complete, the second caution comes out when 83 Brian Vickers pushes 36 Geoffrey Bodine into 42. 4 is on pit road when the caution comes out and now leads the race. 29 comes in for repairs. 48 is back in the pits. 29 Kevin Harvick gets his lap back.

14 takes the lead from 4 at the restart. 6 and 4 race for third. 17 and 99 race for fifth. 24 drives under 2 for seventh. 24 races with 17. 9 is catching leader 14. 14 and 9 battle for the lead. 24 gets by 99. 4 gets by 9. 24 and 17 race for fifth. 24 drives under 17 to take the spot. 24 drives under 6. 99 gets by 6 for sixth.

The third caution comes out when 48 gets loose and goes spinning off into the infield. He manages to stay on the lead lap. 6 David Ragan gets back onto the lead lap. 24 drops lug nuts and has a long stop. The Green Flag flies with 90 laps to go. 14 in the lead takes off. 99 gets around 9 for fourth. 29 is up to sixth. 99 drives under 17 for third.

The fourth caution comes out when 20 Joey Logano blows up. 33 Clint Bowyer gets back onto the lead lap. 99 leads on the restart. 24 drives under 9. 4 and 29 race for ninth. The fifth caution comes out for debris in Turn 3. 00 David Reutimann gets back onto the lead lap. 39 blocks the exit of 2 in the pits and he backs up into 11 trying to get out. Both have to come back in to repair damage.

14 and 99 race for the lead and 14 takes the lead. 4 drives under 9 for sixth. 9 and 29 race for seventh. 16 gets by 9. 4 drives under 27 for fifth. 48 drives under 9 for eleventh. 16 drives under 27. 4 drives under 17. 24 is losing spots and starts Green Flag Pitting again. 4 drives around 99 for second. 14 pits and 4 leads. 31 Jeff Burton takes the lead as the only driver who hasn’t pitted. 99 drives under 4. 4 crosses over and drives under 99. 4 and 99 race with 29 just ahead of them. 4 gets by 29 and 99. 99 gets by 29.

16, 48 and 22 get by leader 31 to unlap themselves. 39 hasn’t made a pit stop and races 31 for the lead. 39 takes the lead. 11 makes a pit stop. 18 misses pit road and has to go around again. 39 pits and 31 leads. Nine laps to go and 31 still doesn’t pit. 31 runs out of fuel, putting 14 back in the lead.

14 Tony Stewart wins the AAA Texas 500 race at Texas Motor Speedway, his fourth win in the seven chase races. Ten different points contenders led laps with Stewart leading the most laps. Carl Edwards finishes second, followed by Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Martin Truex, Jr. Clint Bowyer and A. J. Allmendinger rounding out the top ten. After finishing  second in the race, Edwards stays in the points lead, with winner, Stewart now only three points behind. Kevin Harvick stays in third place. Matt Kenseth and Brad Keselowski trade fourth and fifth places. Jimmie Johnson stays in sixth. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. moves up tow positions into seventh, as does Jeff Gordon, into eighth. Kurt Busch loses a spot and is now in ninth. Denny Hamlin moves up a spot into tenth. Kyle Busch loses four spots, down to eleventh. Ryan Newman remains in twelfth, four points behind tenth place. Only the top ten drivers are at the Awards Ceremonies at the end of the season.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR racing.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: