NASCAR Racing This Week: Dover International Speedway

by

Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. First race fans, I would like to apologize for not bringing you up to speed at Dover. I am on vacation and will not be able to see much of the racing that will take place this weekend at Dover international Speedway. The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will be racing in the AAA 400 on Sunday. Practice was held on Friday. There are forty-four cars entered in this race. That means one team will have to go home on Saturday, when Coors Light Pole Qualifying takes place. Although, for the life of me I can’t imagine why the 22nd row cannot be full so that no one needs to go home.

Qualifying order was determined by practice speeds in the first practice session, with 32 Mike Bliss coming out first because he was slowest in practice, while 17 Matt Kenseth and 27 Paul Menard coming out last because they were the fastest in this practice. For Happy Hour, 5 Mark Martin and 24 Jeff Gordon were the fastest. I don’t know if I’ll be able to cover qualifying. And I don’t know if I will be able to watch the race.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series is also at Dover this weekend. They will be racing the OneMain Financial 200 on Saturday. 03 Marc Davis will be starting qualifying on Saturday, with 38 Kasey Kahne and 33 Clint Bowyer, the fastest, coming out last. Two of the forty-five entered will go home. If the fastest capture the pole, Cup drivers will start from the Pole, lead most of the laps and probably win the race. I’m not sure I care to watch that race with Sprint Cup drivers being the focus of the race.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will be at Kentucky Speedway for the Kentucky 225 on Saturday. This race should be good, as there are no Sprint Cup drivers entered in the race. 74 Mike Harmon will start the qualifying, while 8 nelson Piquet, Jr and 3 Austin Dillon were the fastest. Again, one driver will have to go home. I hope that somehow I will be able to watch this race.

Dover International Speedway is the Monster Mile, a one mile well banked concrete oval. Matt Kenseth won the race here earlier this year. Jimmie Johnson was the winner in the chase last year.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR racing.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

