NASCAR Sprint Cup Racing


Welcome NASCAR fans to my NASCAR blog. Next up on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series circuit is the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Charlotte, NC. This is the 27th annual race of the stars of NASCAR. No points will be given for this race, just $1 Million to the winner.

The race will be in four segments. First is a 50 lap segment with a mandatory green flag pit stop at lap 25. Next is a 20 lap segment with an optional pit stop after it. Then another 20 laps, followed by a ten minute break. The drivers will then pit for four tires and will line up for final segment by how they came out of pit road. The final segment is a ten lap shoot out.

Qualifying will be three laps with a pit stop in there. They have to abide by the pit road speed limit while entering the pits but there is no speed limit for them on the way out of their pits. Pit stall selection will be how they finished in the Sprint pit Crew Challenge, held the day before, Thursday May 19.

To be able to race in the Sprint All-Star Race a driver had to win a race last year or this year so far. The winner of this race in the past ten years is also eligible and any past Champion in the last ten years. Kasey Kahne is the 2008 Sprint All-Star winner, Mark martin won it in 2005. Matt Kenseth is the 2003 Champion. 2010 and 2011 winners are Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer, Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Jamie McMurray, Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Newman, David Reutimann, Regan Smith and Tony Stewart.

The drivers who have not won last year or this, will race in the Sprint Showdown. The winner and second place will race in the Sprint All-Star race from the rear. The Sprint Showdown is forty laps. The fan vote is the final way to get into the Sprint All-Star Race. Fans are voting now. He must end up on the lead lap and have a car capable of racing.

Drivers in the Sprint Showdown are: Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Brad Keselowski, David Ragan, Landon Cassill, Marcos Ambrose, Casey Mears, Joey Logano, Paul Menard, David Stremme, Jeff Burton, Boris Said, David Gilliland, Tony Raines, Travis Kvapil, A. J. Allmendinger, J. J. Yeley, T. J. Bell, Mrtin Truex, Jr. Mike Skinner, Derrike Cope, Todd Bodine, Andy Lally, Scott Riggs, Brian Vickers, Joe Nemechek, Brian Keselowski and David Starr.

I’ll let you know what happened at the Pit Crew Challenge.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: