NASCAR Racing At Texas

by

Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog.This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series travels to the Texas Motor Speedway for the Samsung Mobil 500.TMS is a 1.5 mile track and one of the stops in the chase for the Sprint Cup.

Brian Vickers holds the qualifying record at 196.255 mph and 27.518 seconds set 11/3/06. Carl Edwards holds the race record with a speed of 151.055 set 11/6/05. Last year this race was a week earlier and the race was washed out.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series is also here this weekend racing in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. Last year that race was also rained out and there was a double header on Monday. Hopefully the rain, rain will go away this weekend.

Should qualifying be rained out this year, they will line up according to practice speeds. Last year when qualifying was rained out, they lined up according to owner points. I like this year’s way better.

Kasey Kahne is the only driver to win from the pole here. Denny Hamlin won the last race at this track last year in the chase. Let’s see if he can get his season going this year with a win this weekend.

This year’s race will be a Saturday night race, with the NNS race Friday night. I’m not sure I like these shortened weekends. I suppose night races are exciting because of the lights. For me, if I’m going to buy a ticket, I would want to be at the track all weekend and see lots of racing all weekend. Plus, I can just imagine how hard it will be to get out of the parking lot after the race. And I sure wouldn’t want to leave early and miss an exciting finish.

Festivities begin on Friday and I will be back then.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

