NASCAR Racing: Phoenix International Raceway


Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. The racing takes place this weekend at the Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, AZ. For the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, this will be the thirty-fifth race of the season and the ninth race of the chase for the Sprint Cup. 99 Carl Edwards was fastest in practice.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying took place Friday late afternoon for the Kobalt Tools 500. 24 Jeff Gordon came out first, something they don’t want to do because the track gets faster as it cools down. He will start twenty-second. 43 A. J. Allmendinger was knocked off the pole by pole sitter 99 Carl Edwards.

The three drivers still contending for the title all qualified poorly. 11 Denny Hamlin will start seventeenth. 48 Jimmie Johnson will start twenty-first and 29 Kevin Harvick will start twenty-ninth. Former Champion 09 Bobby Labonte made the race on speed, while his brother 81 Terry had to use a past Champion provisional and will start last. 46 Michael McDowell, 87 Joe Nemechek and 66 Jason Leffler failed to qualify.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series had practice on Friday. This race is the penultimate race in all three Series’. That is, there will be one more race for each in the season. 12 Justin Allgaier was fastest in the first practice and 84 Cole Whitt was fastest in the second practice. They will qualify Saturday Morning and race in the late afternoon.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is also in Avondale. Qualifying took place Friday afternoon for the Lucas Oil 150. Two Trucks are on the track for their qualifying. They come out slowest in practice to fastest. So, there were many provisional pole sitters. 3 Austin Dillon started the race from the pole position with 88 Matt Crafton beside him on the front row. This was Dillon’s sixth pole this year. And he is a rookie. 72 Caitlin Shaw is in this race along with 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb.

3 led from the pole, but 2 took over the lead. 18 Kyle Busch took the lead from 2. After the fourth caution, 2 beat 18 out of the pits. And even after another restart 18 couldn’t take the lead away from 2. Clint Bowyer won the Lucas Oil 150. And 30 Todd Bodine won the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship. This is his second championship. Only Jack Sprague and Ron Hornaday have multiple championships. Now the owner championship will be at stake at the final race in Homestead-Miami next week between 30 Bodine and 18 Busch.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: