NASCAR News: Coors Light Qualifying

by

Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series travels to Fontana, Ca. and the Auto Club Speedway for the Pepsi Max 400. This is the fourth race in the chase for the Sprint Cup and the 30th race of the season. Practice took place on this 2 mile moderately banked track for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series as well as for the NASCAR Nationwide Series earlier today.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying took place for the NSCS on Friday with 1 Jamie McMurray capturing the pole with a speed of 185.285 mph and 38.859 seconds. 19 Elliott Sadler will start on the front row with Jamie. Both drivers are not in the chase. In fact, there are only three chase drivers in the top ten. 17 Matt Kenseth starts third, 16 Greg Biffle starts seventh and 48 Jimmie Johnson starts eighth.

Forty-five teams came to qualify. 71 is Andy Lally. 37 is Dave Blaney. Both are in the top 35 in owner points and guaranteed to race. 09 is Bobby Labonte who made, a past champion who got in on speed. 66 is Jason Leffler a regular in the Nationwide Series. 36 is J. J. Yeley. 46 is Michael McDowell. 64 is Landon Cassill. 26 Patrick Carpentier and 55 Mike Bliss failed to make the race.

And now I must comment. Marty Reid again did a lousy job of covering qualifying. He put down quite a few drivers. And built up his favorites. I know I don’t want the announcer telling me my favorite driver or any of them are not much of drivers. I found myself telling him to shut up. Can I ask Dale Jarrett to nudge Marty when he does these things, if not actually telling Marty to stop? If I wasn’t such a great NASCAR fan, I would have changed the channel. Get someone in there who can be fair to all the drivers. (Thank you for listening to that.)

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley. I love NASCAR.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

