NASCAR Racing: New Hampshire Motor Speedway


Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. The seventeenth race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule is at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Louden, NH. for the Lenox Industrial Tools 301. New Hampshire Motor Speedway is a 1.058 mile flat track. (Well, not exactly flat. There is variable banking in the turns of 2″ and 7″ and 1″ on the straightaways.) 300 laps will be 301 miles.

The track qualifying record is held by Ryan Newman at 133.357 mph and 28.561 sec.  set 9/12/03. The race record is held by Jeff Gordon. They ran 317.4 miles and Jeff had an average speed of 117.134 mph on 7/13/97.

Last year qualifying was rained out and they started the race according to owner points, with Tony Stewart on the pole since he was leading the points. Joey Logano won the rain shortened race after 273 laps were raced. He’s the youngest driver to win in New Hampshire at 19. Mark Martin won the race here in September at age 50.

Past winners at New Hampshire Motor Speedway are Jeff Burton with four wins, Jeff Gordon and Kurt Busch with three wins, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart and Ryan Newman with two wins each. Denny Hamlin, Mark Martin, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Greg Biffle, Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer each have one win here. Bowyer and Logano won their first career race here.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley


Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: