NASCAR Racing: Dover

by

Welcome NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to Dover International Speedway.  This “Monster Mile” track is my favorite one to see a NASCAR race. Dover is a concrete mile long race track. And no matter where you sit in the stands, you can see the entire race and all the action.

I have been coming to Dover International Speedway for several years now. It all started when a co-worker had tickets purchased for friends who could not attend. So I bought two. My husband and I came down on Saturday and bought tickets to the Busch race.

We had reservations in New Jersey(!) to spend the night. We never did find that Motel! And got lost coming back to the track. I have some real adventures of my trips to Dover. Maybe I’ll share them sometime. We liked the track so much, we’ve been coming ever since. We now have a tow-behind camper and come on Wednesday late afternoon and stay until Monday morning. We renew our tickets and have reserved RV parking in Lot 2.

The track is a short walk  from Lot 2, but the first time we came with our RV, we parked where you don’t need a reservation. And there is a bus that will take you to the track. The Lot is first come, first served and fans get there on Monday and make a vacation out of it. We can’t get there that early, so we have our spot reserved.

The gates open on Thursday morning and there is action on the track most of the day, all weekend. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, as well as the NASCAR Nationwide Series are both there for the weekend. So there is plenty of practice, qualifying and racing going on. Last year the Truck race was rained out, so they raced after the Nationwide race.  My son and grandson joined us on Saturday and they got to see all three races.

Last year 16 Brian Scott (one of my favorites) won his first NCWTS race. 88 Brad Keselowski (my son’s favorite) won the Nationwide race. And Jimmie Johnson (my grandson’s favorite) won the Cup race. So, we all went home thoroughly satisfied.

Richard Petty won the first three out of four races held there starting in 1969. That year there was only one race in Dover, along with the next year. In 1971 Bobby Allison won the first race and Petty won the second. Last year was Jimmie’s fifth win. Jeff Gordon has four wins, as does Mark Martin. Ryan Newman has three wins and Greg Biffle and Tony Stewart both have two wins. Carl Edwards, Martin Truex, Jr. (his first win), Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch, Jeff Burton, Bobby Labonte and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. each have one win.

Jeremy Mayfield holds the track qualifying record with a speed of 161.522 and 22.288 seconds, set 6/4/04. Mark Martin holds the race record with an average speed of 132.719, set 9/21/97. Last year the pole sitter was 00 David Reutimann. And Jimmie Johnson won both races.

I will be taking notes while at the track, but will not be posting until I get back home.I could bring my laptop, but I’m not very computer savvy, so I’m not sure how to get online to do it! But I’ll tell you all about it when I get back home. Dover is a great track to watch a race in person. One for us die hard fans who make a weekend into a vacation. I highly recommend going if you can.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley

Check out my NASCAR Store.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

