NASCAR Sprint Cup Racing

by

Welcome NASCAR fans to my NASCAR blog. This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series travels to Richmond International Raceway in Richmond, VA. RIR is a .75 mile oval track. And the only track on the circuit that has two races under the lights.

This is the tenth race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Richmond had a contest to name the race. And a military hero, Heath Calhoun, won the contest. So the race is the Heath Calhoun 400.

The qualifying record for RIR was set by Brian Vickers at 129.983  on 5/15/04. The race record is 109.047 set by Dale Jarrett 9/6/97.

Past winners are: Tony Stewart (3), Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (3), Jimmie Johnson (3), Jeff Gordon (2), Kevin Harvick, Mark Martin, Ryan Newman, Jeff Burton, Matt Kenseth, and Kasey Kahne. Last year Kyle Busch won the Spring race, while Denny Hamlin finally won on his home track in the Fall last year.

In my opinion, Richmond International Raceway is the best track for racing. It’s a short track with lots of room to race. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it is a two day event. And I personally like three day events. Practice will be today (Friday), along with practice for the NASCAR Nationwide Series. And both Series’ will qualify today. The Nationwide race, the Bubba Burger 250, will be tonight. There will be no practice tomorrow, but the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will race the Heath Calhoun 400. And I think that is why I do not go to that track. Because there is no on track action on Saturday. I like to go to tracks where I can spend three days watching action on the track. But it is a night race, and that is always exciting.

I’ll let you know how the Nationwide race went. And I’ll be back for Coors Light Qualifying. See you then!

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley

Visit my NASCAR Store

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “NASCAR Sprint Cup Racing”

  1. Mikel Says:

    Nice post Sheila.

    I can´t wait to read you in NASCAR-EUROPE.

    Regards

  2. rockwell Says:

    I feel far more folks require to read this, really good info.

Leave a Reply

