NASCAR Racing: Talladega


Welcome, NASCAR race fans to my NASCAR blog. This week the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, AL. This is the longest and fastest track. Talladega Superspeedway is a 2.66 mile tri-oval and is so fast that NASCAR mandates restrictor plates on the carburetor. Bill Elliott holds the qualifying record at 212.809 set 4/30/87. The plates restrict horse power, so they don’t get going too fast. Daytona is the other track that has mandatory plates. Mark Martin holds the race record with an average speed of 188.354 set 5/10/97.

This is my favorite track to watch NASCAR racing. They race three wide, nose to tail, ten deep. It’s so exciting to watch. Unfortunately, Talladega Superspeedway is the home of the “Big One”, where many cars are collected in a spectacular crash. Some fans come to see the crashes. I watch to see the wonderful racing. And hope no one makes mistakes and takes out half the field. With them racing so close together, there is no margin for error.

Past winners are Brad Keselowski, who won his first Sprint Cup win last year here, Jamie McMurray, who is going for three restrictor plate races in a row, Brian Vickers, who won his first career win here, Tony Stewart, Jimmie Johnson and Bobby Labonte. Jeff Gordon has the most wins, with six. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. has five wins and Mark Martin has two wins.


Shell /Penzoil announced they will no longer be sponsoring the Richard Childress car of Kevin Harvick in 2011. They will go to Penske Racing. Kurt Busch who is currently in the #2 Miller Lite car, will be in the #22 Shell/Penzoil car. Brad Keselowski, in the #12 has sponsor money from Verizon, but cannot put the logo on the car because the Series sponsor is Sprint. Brad will move to the blue deuce next year. And previously announced, Kasey Kahne will leave Richard Petty Motorsports at the end of the year and move to Hendrick Motorsports in 2012. It is still uncertain where he will be in 2011.

NASCAR Nationwide Series qualified on Friday and will race on Saturday. Kevin Harvick, in his own #33 car is on the pole with a speed of 187.375. Carl Edwards will start second. Both are Sprint Cup drivers. Steve Arpin, who is racing in ARCA, makes his Nationwide debut in the JR Motorsports #7 car. The Cup drivers knocked him off the pole. ARCA will race later on Friday. Jeremy Clements, Willie Allen, Josh Wise, Derrike Cope and Kevin Lepage failed to make the race. Along with Arpin, Parker Kligerman, Patrick Sheltra, Bobby Gerhart and Chrissy Wallace also made the race.

The new Ford FR9 engine makes it’s debut in this race. Carl Edwards is already complaining of engine trouble in Sprint Cup practice. 37 Robert Richardson will attempt to make the race. 38 Kevin Conway was not eligible to race at Daytona, but will try to qualify here.

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley

Visit my NASCAR Store

See ya after the races.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: