NASCAR Racing-The Bud Shootout


Thursday night was the drawing for the Budweiser Shootout. The cars don’t actually drive to qualify for this race. They pick a bottle of Budweiser that has a flag in it. Twenty-eight bottles lined the bar at the Daytona Speedway. The drivers picking the bottles this year are decided by the top six cars for each of the four different manufacturers. Plus one wild card for each.

This is the first year with this format. In the past, the Bud Shootout was for the previous season’s Bud Pole winners and the past winners of the race. Budweiser is no longer the Pole sponsor, so they wanted a different format.

In the Chevy camp, drawing bottles were: #48 Jimmy Johnson, the reigning three time Champion, #29 Kevin Harvick, who finished fourth in points, #07 Casey Mears, who took over the 07 car from Clint Bowyer, #31 Jeff Burton, who finished sixth in points in a new Cat car, #24 Jeff Gordon, who finished seventh in points, #88 Dale Earnhardt, Jr. who finished twelfth in points and the wild card #14 Tony Stewart, a past Champion in his own car this year.

In the Ford camp drawing bottles were: #99 Carl Edwards, who finished the 2008 season in second, #16 Greg Biffle, who finished third in points, #17 Matt Kenseth, who finished eleventh in points, #6 David Ragan, who finished thirteenth in points, #26 Jamie McMurray, who finished sixteenth in points, #98 Paul Menard, who took takes the points of #38 David Gilliland, and the wild card #96 past Champion Bobby Labonte, driving for Hall of Fame Racing, partnering with Yates Racing.

In the Dodge camp drawing for bottles were: #9 Kasey Kahne in the Bud car, who finished fourteenth in points, #12 David Stremme, who takes over the car from Ryan Newman, #2 Kurt Busch, ending the year in eighteenth, #43 Reed Sorenson, who takes over the points from Bobby Labonte, #19 Elliott Sadler, who finished twenty-ninth in points, #7 Robby Gordon, who will drive a Toyota in the regular season and the wild card #44 A.J. Allmendinger.

In the Toyota camp drawing bottles were: #11 Denny Hamlin, who finished 2008 in eighth, #20 Rookie Joey Logano who takes over the car from Tony Stewart, #18 Kyle Busch, who ended up in tenth place, #83 Brian Vickers, who finished nineteenth, #00 David Reutimann, who is back in his old number, #55 Michael Waltrip, who finished in twenty-ninth and wild card driver #82 Rookie Scott Speed.

After everyone had picked a bottle, 98 Menard was on the Pole, followed by 19 Sadler, 43 Sorenson, 82 Speed, 11 Hamlin, 14 Stewart, 83 Vickers, 96 Labonte, 88 Earnhardt, Jr., 18 Ky Busch, 99 Edwards, 2 Ku Busch, 7 R. Gordon, 9 Kahne, 26 McMurray, 6 Ragan, 55 Waltrip, 44 Almendinger, 20 Logano, 12 Stremme, 48 Johnson, 00 Reutimann, 31 Burton, 07 Mears, 17 Kenseth, 16 Biffle, 29 Harvick and 24 J. Gordon.

The Bud Shootout will be on FOX at around 8PM on Saturday. It’s the most drivers ever in this race. Be there!

Brought to you by Sheila Hawley


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: